style fuss

I Am Thankful For…

Posted in Uncategorized by Ciara on November 26, 2009

At Thanksgiving we are supposed to take some time out to give thanks for all that we have.  I know that many people practice this reflective ritual but I also know that many people tend to be a little preoccupied by all of the delicious food that may surround them in abundance.  Personally, I have had a struggle this past year particularly with graduating during an economic downturn and the subsequent demoralizing job hunt.

In many ways this has been a very lean year – For example, I’ve continued to cut my own hair (which I fortunately tend to like better anyway) to save on unnecessary spending and gone without more often than not in many ways.  This has taught me a great deal about being creative and resourceful and I am truly thankful for that.

This year has also been quite fat and full in its own way.  I have had experiences that were life-long dreams of mine and for those moments I am grateful.  I have an amazing love in my life that sustains and supports me.  In spite of trying times (and in some ways, because of it – being unemployed, I’ve had a lot of time to think)  I am thankful for so very much.

  • Clark!
  • finding surprising luxe fabrics in a thrift store
  • perfect liquid eyeliner
  • new and exciting opportunities and experiences!
  • art supplies and Al Green
  • “kwalahs”
  • film-making
  • costumes
  • an amazing new friend
  • dancing
  • black coffee in the morning
  • yoga
  • tech-flippin’ology
  • NYC actually being BETTER than I ever imagined
  • art, art, art
  • my mother’s wild spirit
  • my newly embraced heritage and the culture somewhere in my veins
  • overly-ambitious artistic endeavors
  • divine decadence
  • nicely done nails
  • art deco

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Out the Other Side said, on November 26, 2009 at 10:18 PM

    Girl, I hear you about being thankful about Al Green. I was skimming through channels tonight and happened upon him belting out “Tired of Being Alone” on the ’09 Essence awards. Even at 63 years old…that man still knows how to rub some soul on that stage! Such an amazing live performer! 🙂

  2. lorkeeta said, on November 30, 2009 at 7:22 PM

    You have so many things to be thankful for. Keep your spirits high and you will soon fly. You are an awesome woman. Deep and intense, scared and courageous, sometimes sad but always cute. You are a shining star. Believe it in every molecule of your body ‘cuz it is TRUE! Find the light in your heart- life has a way of working itself out-just hang on for the wild ride. I love you


Leave a Reply

