style fuss

Inspiration: Chanel Coco Cocoon Campaign Featuring Lily Allen

Posted in Designer Watch, inspiration by Ciara on December 4, 2009

First, I will readily acknowledge that I am late to this party.  Pictures of Lily Allen for Chanel surfaced back in July and the line launched in October, so forgive me my tardiness.  I heard rumors circulating about the Chanel Coco Cocoon line way back but they seemed to get lost in the shuffle of my brain until recently.  I finally sought out the images and it was love at first, albeit belated, sight.

I was a Lily Allen fan before the now fashion darling was so well known.  There is no question about her musical appeal and edgy style.  I recently heard rumors about her plan to open a designer clothing rental shop with her sister and I must say that this news is pretty intriguing…

As for her work with Chanel, I find myself enamored of the aesthetic!  The classic, timeless elements of Chanel blown up in quite a literal way (note the gorgeous plush bag in the first and third pictures) paired with the iconic Holly Golightly styling but with such a refreshing edge…  just amazing.  The choice of black and white photography only emphasizes the drama and visual contrast, especially when in addition to the signature monochromatic styling choices used that Karl Lagerfeld often wears himself.  I think the element of contrast is one of the most important in this campaign, from contrast between shades of black and white to the sophisticated homage tinged with grit.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle said, on December 4, 2009 at 9:41 PM

    I love Lily Allen. Less love for KL, but these photos still look great though! The last one is my favorite…I think it’s the juxtaposition of her messy hair with such a sleek outfit.


Leave a Reply

