style fuss

Trend I Love: Digital Prints

Posted in Trend I Love by Ciara on January 11, 2010

As a fashionista with a background in graphic design, I can’t help but be completely elated when I see my two passions co-existing together so seamlessly!  Needless to say, there are many emerging trends to watch for on the Spring 2010 runways and I must say that one of my favorites is the abundance of digital prints.  There are a lot of beautiful prints around this season — from the inescapable florals that one can expect for spring, to the emergence of ikat from Gucci and Marc Jacobs — I am most drawn to the striking, optical, and often graphic prints of Balenciaga, Givenchy, Versace, and, as to be anticipated, Proenza Schouler.

Balenciaga Spring 2010 RTW

Balenciaga Spring 2010 RTW

Givenchy Spring 2010 RTW

Givenchy Spring 2010 RTW

Versace Spring 2010 RTW

Versace Spring 2010 RTW

Proenza Schouler Spring 2010 RTW

Proenza Schouler Spring 2010 RTW

I particularly enjoy the juxtaposition of such strong, graphic prints with flowing fabrics and soft edges (see Givenchy).  The contrast within the prints themselves might be enough, but this pairing of hard and soft can be seen through out all of the aforementioned collections and adds such a nice dynamic element.

For all of you graphic design buffs, if you haven’t played around with it, try Processing, an open source programming language and environment for people who want to program images, animation, and interactions.  It is an incredible tool to explore and can (among infinite other possibilities) help one create images quite similar to these fabulous digital prints.

Images from Style.com


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Out the Other Side said, on January 11, 2010 at 2:17 PM

    Excellent post my dear! I’m also excited to see graphic design and fashion co-existing so beautifully.

    For the record: the lime green Proenza Schouler is definitely my favorite! 😉

  2. Retro Chick said, on January 12, 2010 at 6:48 AM

    I love those prints, but I’m not convinced I could merge many into my wardrobe.

    I quite fancy one stunning statement dress though.

    • Ciara said, on January 12, 2010 at 10:55 AM

      Incorporating such dramatic prints into an everyday look is something I’m trying to figure out! One look from the Givenchy collection uses the bold print as a belt with the rest of the look fairly simple and architectural. So I’m thinking accessories (or leggings?) with these prints might be fun and somewhat do-able.

      Image Here

  3. sharonkaleena said, on February 8, 2010 at 2:36 AM

    I adore your blog! added it to my BlogRoll!


Leave a Reply

