style fuss

Obsession du Jour: The Runaways

Posted in Obsession du Jour by Ciara on January 13, 2010

I have been a long time Joan Jett fan.  Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, The Runaways…  ♥♥♥ Perhaps it’s because my mother was such a huge fan around the time that I was incubating/developing.  I have quite a few of her albums on vinyl and I remember my naive, “tough” high school self rejoicing when I discovered the song “Cherry Bomb” in 11th grade…

Cherie Currie and Joan Jett from The Runaways Live in Japan

This said, I am anxiously anticipating the bio pic featuring Kristen Stewart and Dakota Fanning, The Runaways, which is debuting at the Sundance Film Festival January 21-31, 2010 and will be in theaters later this spring.

Kristen Stewart (as Jett) and Dakota Fanning (as Currie) on the set of The Runaways

From the trailer and the pictures I’ve been able to find I’m pretty excited about this film.  I’m a big fan of Dakota Fanning (recently enchanted by her Teen Vogue pictures and she was great as Jane in New Moon).  I think Kristen Stewart — though perhaps not the first person to come to my mind for this role — will do a great job as well.

For more inspiration, view the Style.com Joan Jett Beauty Icon slideshow here.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle said, on January 13, 2010 at 8:28 PM

    I’m looking forward to it! I was kind of iffy about Kristen Stewart, but it looks like she’ll do an okay job. Dakota Fanning is turning out to be quite the young actress, kind of surprisingly!

  2. Out the Other Side said, on January 13, 2010 at 8:31 PM

    Yes!! The Runaways are indeed amazing! “Cherry Bomb” is probably my favorite track and I am too excited that they are making a Runaways bio pic. Too damn cool! 😀

  3. Dalton said, on January 14, 2010 at 9:37 AM

    wow!! kristen stewart is pulling off joan jett pretty convincingly. maybe she’s not a bad actress after all.

  4. previouslyowned said, on January 23, 2010 at 6:17 PM

    I am looking forward to this movieeee so much! And dakota faning looks so grown up, it’s quite scary hehe


Leave a Reply

