style fuss

Alexander McQueen: Final Collection, Paris 2010

Posted in New Collection, Personal Note by Ciara on March 11, 2010

Sorry for my absence as of late – we have finally made the move to Asheville, NC!  I’ve been unpacking and getting all of those moving details squared away for the past while.  I will be getting some photographs of my new home and the style of the Asheville streets very soon.  But first I have to unpack my closet…  😉

Yesterday I came across images from Alexander McQueen’s final collection and a beautifully written article about the legend and his last works.  The 16-piece collection was only at 80% completion at the time of his death and draws inspiration from the art of the Dark Ages but with a new perspective, incorporating mohawk, feathered headpieces and specially ordered fabric that translated digital photographs of demons by Hieronymus Bosch and high-church angels.  I feel a kinship to this concept of juxtaposing the new and the old, the digital and the…  analog, art and technology.  It is one element as to why I’ve always been such a fan of Alexander McQueen.

Here are a few of my favorites from the collection.  View the entire collection at style.com.

I can’t help but think that these pieces are only a small part of the entire vision.  One can only imagine what artistry would have encapsulated this collection on the runway.  The simple and intimate showing of this final collection may not have been what McQueen had in mind –  it was his showmanship as well as his garments that made him what he was – but it offered his close friends and colleagues a moment to reflect and one last look.

Photos:

style.com via
Christopher Moore / Courtesy of Alexander McQueen

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carolyn said, on March 11, 2010 at 12:54 PM

    I just gave you an award!!

  2. Clare said, on March 14, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    I love this collection, it’s so regal and extravagant. So sad we don’t get to see it all though.

    iliketweet.blogspot

    x


Leave a Reply

